Login | Register


All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


It is currently Mon Aug 20, 2018 2:17 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Invisible character at loading screen
PostPosted: Mon Aug 05, 2013 3:59 am 

Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 3:55 am
Posts: 4
Hi! I've been using Defiler.NET for a few years now and loved it. I started it up for the first time in possibly a year or so and my characters are invisible at the loading screen. I alt tabbed out to patch the game as before, yet that option is greyed out. When I try to load the game, it tries to, then spits me back at the main screen. It's been a while, so I might be missing a step. I recently installed the 1.17 bugpatch, so I'm not sure if that might be messing things up at the moment. Do you have any suggestions?

Thanks!
Brian


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Invisible character at loading screen
PostPosted: Mon Aug 05, 2013 1:42 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008 12:33 am
Posts: 344
Hello! If you are using 1.17 then you have Immortal Throne, which doesn't have the invisible character issue (it's due to the cd-key not matching and is only present in vanilla Titan Quest). There isn't a character check with Immortal Throne, so you really shouldn't have this issue....are you accidentally loading the game from the Titan Quest shortcut instead of the Immortal Throne shortcut?

Soul

_________________
___----*********************----____
Defiler.NET 1.3.9 has been released!
----_______________________----


Maker of the Defiler and Portable. Get more information here!
Image

"I hate it when people quote themselves in their signatures." - Me


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Invisible character at loading screen
PostPosted: Mon Aug 05, 2013 8:26 pm 

Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 3:55 am
Posts: 4
That is quite possible. While looking through the TQ.net forums, I came across one talking about not needing the DVD in drive and using the backup .exe that came with the bug patch.

I just tried loading IT from Defiler.NET and it brings up the same loading screen with invisible characters. Oddly, I also tried my IT shortcut and it asked for the TQ disk instead of the IT one. I put the disk in and TQ starts up with the same invisible character. I patched the game through Defiler and it fixes the issue, but I am still seeing it when I try to run IT.

I'm at a loss at the moment. :)

Brian


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Invisible character at loading screen
PostPosted: Mon Aug 05, 2013 9:30 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008 12:33 am
Posts: 344
Using the IT shortcut it asked for the TQ disk?? That sounds very strange...once you get into IT you can confirm in the lower right corner that the version is indeed 1.17 (I think 1.17a if memory serves)? When you load IT and go to the character select it displays the characters, you can cycle through them...but you can't see the character models or anything being shown (except the character name)?

_________________
___----*********************----____
Defiler.NET 1.3.9 has been released!
----_______________________----


Maker of the Defiler and Portable. Get more information here!
Image

"I hate it when people quote themselves in their signatures." - Me


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Invisible character at loading screen
PostPosted: Mon Aug 05, 2013 10:25 pm 

Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 3:55 am
Posts: 4
Yup. Lower right confirms 1.17 (though not 1.17a... I wonder if it used to say 1.17a...) And your description is correct. I can take screenshots if it will help, but you're describing exactly what I am (not) seeing.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Invisible character at loading screen
PostPosted: Tue Aug 06, 2013 3:29 am 

Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 3:55 am
Posts: 4
Another oddity... I tried making a new character, just to see what would happen in IT. It lets me create the name, yet it doesn't update the list of characters with the new creation and it effectively goes away. This just gets weirder.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Invisible character at loading screen
PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2014 3:20 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008 12:33 am
Posts: 344
An uninstall and reinstall might do the trick...sounds like something is just plain off, I'd try it without the fan patch first...then maybe stick to that or back it up and then try the fanpatch and see what happens (no TQ Defiler up to this point).

Soul

_________________
___----*********************----____
Defiler.NET 1.3.9 has been released!
----_______________________----


Maker of the Defiler and Portable. Get more information here!
Image

"I hate it when people quote themselves in their signatures." - Me


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: