Login | Register


All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


It is currently Fri Feb 23, 2018 5:32 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Failed to Find Steam?
PostPosted: Wed Jun 03, 2009 7:23 pm 

Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 7:16 pm
Posts: 1
So hi im New here..

So ive had my TQ for Quite a While and decided to Spice it up abit..
went to looks for some tools and some stuff Found TQ Defiler
installed it.. added some mods kept getting that warning thing well i thought what the hell as long as u can press okay and it work

Went to Try it Out..

Main
-Run Titan Quest Immortal Throne

-Failed to find Steam-
-Redirects to Steam Page... -

Im running Version 1.0.5. Its installed in Tq it Folder..

Some help Would be much Appreciated (: thx


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Failed to Find Steam?
PostPosted: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:22 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008 12:33 am
Posts: 344
What warning were you getting exactly?

Soul

_________________
___----*********************----____
Defiler.NET 1.3.9 has been released!
----_______________________----


Maker of the Defiler and Portable. Get more information here!
Image

"I hate it when people quote themselves in their signatures." - Me


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Failed to Find Steam?
PostPosted: Sun May 09, 2010 9:17 pm 

Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 9:01 pm
Posts: 3
Hi there, i have the same problem which is weird since it's not first time i use it. Maybe something have changed from steam idk. "Failed to find steam" is the exact warning it gives me. There is nothing else. I can figure that the path in the defiler's settings is wrong or something but i did make sure it was ok. Something interesting, it does work with vanilla Titan Quest but it doesn't with Immortal Throne.

If you need more information, just ask, thanks for your help.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Failed to Find Steam?
PostPosted: Sun May 09, 2010 11:44 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008 12:33 am
Posts: 344
This was due to the way steam launches TQ, I believe it needs to be launched via the steam.exe + correct command line. The latest version of the TQ Defiler.NET allows you to include a command line argument located on the settings screen of the Defiler. On this screen is listed the argument that should be used for steam to launch TQ, I believe you have to set the Immortal Throne executable to the steam.exe as well, been awhile since I've seen the steam issues. ;)

Hope that helps! If not post again and I'll help more tomorrow night when I'm home again. :)

Soul

_________________
___----*********************----____
Defiler.NET 1.3.9 has been released!
----_______________________----


Maker of the Defiler and Portable. Get more information here!
Image

"I hate it when people quote themselves in their signatures." - Me


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Failed to Find Steam?
PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2010 12:44 pm 

Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 9:01 pm
Posts: 3
Hi thanks for the answer. But it didn't really help. I'll show you some screenshot maybe you'll see something that i don't.

First the general tabs, it does detect Immortal Throne.
Image

Then the directories path.
Image

The executables which like you said i must choose the command line argument.
Image

I took both command line in my shortcut.
Image

And now the key to the problem, is when i click on the question mark in the executables tab, it doesn't show the Immortal Throne's one. And like i said it work with Vanilla Titan Quest.
Image

While i was writing this, i found out that if i click on the executable that launch the game it gives me the same warning. So i guess the problem come from steam. But the shortcut on my desktop work. :confused:
Maybe the shortcut take another .exe but which one and where???

I'm not sure if you can help me but i think you'll find this interesting.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Failed to Find Steam?
PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2010 9:32 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008 12:33 am
Posts: 344
Alright! Thanks for posting pictures, that helps immensely. ;)

The pic that shows the starting directories, that's fine if that's showing blank for one or the other, the program simply uses the game directory if you don't have a custom starting directory set, and you could probably have that cleared or not set for regular TQ.

As for steam, the ACTUAL desktop shortcuts appear to be web/file urls (odd setup...) to launch the game. You have the command line argument set, but not the executable and the command line I don't believe is right.

If you placed what you have in the command line argument into the custom executable ("steam://rungameid/4550") it would probably work, but unfortunately as-is the Defiler checks to see if that string exists before it would use it...and something that looks like that isn't truely going to *exist*, and wouldn't be used. If it comes to that I'll make a custom version of the Defiler for you to try with a weburl like that, and if it works I'll include a simple one-click button to set it to use something like that for future use. ;) For now lets try the normal custom executable route...

First clear both TQ and IT settings by clicking both the 'Clear Paths' button for each on the 'Executables' tab. Next open that settings.dat file with notepad.

Set the following settings:

"[itexe]=C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steam.exe" (or wherever the steam.exe file is located)

"[itcl]=-applaunch 4550"

"[useitcl]=True"

Save the settings file, then open the Defiler and use the 'Run Immortal Throne' and let me know what happens!

Soul

_________________
___----*********************----____
Defiler.NET 1.3.9 has been released!
----_______________________----


Maker of the Defiler and Portable. Get more information here!
Image

"I hate it when people quote themselves in their signatures." - Me


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Failed to Find Steam?
PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2010 9:49 pm 

Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 9:01 pm
Posts: 3
It works now :D

Thanks a lot for your help and your time SoulSeekor.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Failed to Find Steam?
PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2010 9:52 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008 12:33 am
Posts: 344
No problem! Thanks for posting back so fast. ;) Feel free to let me know if you have any other questions or suggestions! I like the idea of the "Steam button" too but if it's working fine I don't know how much help that'd be, lol. Perhaps in another program in a distant but near future. :D

Soul

_________________
___----*********************----____
Defiler.NET 1.3.9 has been released!
----_______________________----


Maker of the Defiler and Portable. Get more information here!
Image

"I hate it when people quote themselves in their signatures." - Me


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Failed to Find Steam?
PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2010 11:57 am 

Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 11:45 am
Posts: 1
Hi i'm new to the whole defiler thing, and downloaded it as a result of the 'Failed to find steam' error that he also had. I know this is an old post but i'm having difficulty loading up my tq:it without that error message.I've done everything that you had said to the other guy but i'm still getting the error message. its really bugging me now to the point where i might reformat my pc just to see if that solves the problem, however i doubt it.please help!

cheers,
kq


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Failed to Find Steam?
PostPosted: Tue Oct 05, 2010 10:39 am 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008 12:33 am
Posts: 344
You've got all the correct paths set and the command line information entered correctly? Maybe a screenshot of the tab with your custom exe and command line info?

Soul

_________________
___----*********************----____
Defiler.NET 1.3.9 has been released!
----_______________________----


Maker of the Defiler and Portable. Get more information here!
Image

"I hate it when people quote themselves in their signatures." - Me


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron